Pirates News · 1st Hart and Sole XC Invitational is a success!

Where to begin?  A huge thank you to everyone who got this invite off the ground and who made it a great meet.  Although many teams pulled out due to the new Pre Regional that was added to the schedule, those who decided to attend were treated to a 1st class meet.  It was the happiest meet all season. Thank you, Chris Bosse for the great music.  We had the best starter in the state. (Brandon Bruce) and Mr. K Ackley, Mr. Hertzler and crew planned everything impeccably!.   The weather was cool, but mild and made for great racing.  It felt so good to feel a bit normal and HOME!

When the guns went off, the Hart Pirates again took command.  They are showing improved strength and speed and are fun to watch!   There were a total of 14 Personal Records set today and 6 Season best records. Yes, the course measured a true 3.1 miles.  Both Pirate teams took 1st place.

The Boys race was lead by Alex Enns (16:25); 2nd Spencer Vander Zwaag (PR 16:38); 3rd Clayton Ackley ( 17:00); 4th Wyatt Dean ((PR 17:06); 6th Noah Bosley ((PR17:15); 8th Mikey Tubbs      (SB 17:24); and 11th Seth Ackley (17:59).  Medals were earned by all the above runners.  Today marked the last race for the JV squad and they went out with a bang! 15th and medalist,  Easton Vander Zwaag (PR 18:31); 18th  Max Nienhuis (PR 18:41); 20th Brendan Nienhuis (PR 19:03, nearly a minute off last week’s PR);  25th Josef Bromley with his 10th PR this season (19:30); 26th Tyler Vander Zanden (PR 19.43); 33rd Brandon Vander Zanden (PR 20:44); 41st Tyler Coker (21:46); Mason Contreras (22:12); and Josh Huizenga 46th (PR 22:29).  We are so proud of all of you!

The Girls race was won by Alyson Enns in 18:24!  2nd Audry Enns  (18:44);   3rd  Savannah Ackley (19:00);   4th  Lynae Ackley (19:13);   6th  Lauren VanderLaan  (SB 20:18);   8th  Layla Creed (SB 21:13);  9th Savanna Owens (PR 21:24).   All of the Varsity runners earned medals!  The JV girls, also running their final 2020 season race, impressed the home crowd with their great finishes! Sadie Sorensen in 14th earned a medal in a season best time of 22:33.   16th Dayrin Ramirez  (PR 23:14);  17th Kelly Vander Kodde (23:17); 18th Gina Vander Kodde (23:20); 20th Liszet Hernandez (PR 23:32); 21st Abby Pretty (SB 23:38); 23rd Morgan Marvin (24:09); and with a PR time of 26:10, Yamille Zarraga finished in 30th place.  You girls are awesome!